Southern California Applied Mathematics Symposium

Saturday, April 27, 2019

California Institute of Technology


SOCAMS (Southern California Applied Mathematics Symposium) is a conference that aims to bring together researchers from universities throughout Southern California, working in all areas of Applied Mathematics, for a one-day exchange of ideas in an informal and collaborative atmosphere. It is intended that the symposium showcases research work by young faculty, post-docs, and graduate students as well as inspirational talks from selected faculty members. The event (including breakfast and lunch) is free for these participants. Registration is required for all attendees. The program and the invited presentations are given here.

Plenary Speakers

Andrew J. Bernoff (Harvey Mudd College)

Venkat Chandrasekaran (Caltech)

Marina Chugunova (CGU)

Stanislav Minsker (USC)


Please fill the form below. The abstracts should be limited to a half-page maximum in length. The committee will try to accomodate your preference of contributed talk or poster.


Please fill the form below. Registration is free but every participant must register.

Important Dates

  • March 15, 2019: Deadline for receipt of abstracts.
  • March 29, 2019: Notification of abstract acceptance and time of presentation.
  • Important Information

  • Program Schedule
  • List of Talks
  • List of Posters
  • Location: The event will be held at Caltech in the Gates-Thomas auditorium and meeting rooms.


  • Parking Information:
    Permit requirements are not enforced on weekends, so SOCAMS attendees won't need to buy permits. However, they must still be sure to park in a space with an unmarked curb (referred to as Commuter parking on the campus Parking website).
    Parking Structure #3, located south of California Boulevard, is the parking structure most convenient to the SOCAMS venue (Gates-Thomas Laboratory).
    A map of campus parking locations is available here:

  • Organizing Committee

    • Frederic Gibou (UCSB)
    • Franca Hoffmann (Caltech)
    • Mason A. Porter (UCLA)
    • Andrew M. Stuart (Caltech)

    Scientific Committee

    • Andrea Bertozzi (UCLA)
    • Ellis Cumberbatch (CGU)
    • Susan Friedlander (USC)
    • Frederic Gibou (UCSB)
    • Tom Hou (Caltech)
    • Jim Kelliher (UCR)
    • Bo Li (UCSD)
    • Ali Nadim (CGU)
    • Hongkai Zhao (UCI)